In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The debate over the implications of people's convenient accessibility to exotic foods has sparked considerable controversy. In my opinion, despite a few benefits to this trend, it is a negative phenomenon due to the reasons this essay will further elaborate on. One major drawback of this trend is the economic downturn in valuable cultures. This is mainly because each nation has its unique cultural heritage, including traditional dishes. With these meals being provided all over the world, fewer people would visit to try them. As a result, the tourism industry, which is regarded as a reliable income for many regions, would be diminished, thereby posing a significant threat to the country's economic stability and global status. In addition, the Indigenous people, who relied on tourists for their livelihoods would also struggle, negatively influencing their living standards. For instance, once the Iranian government decided to export local cookies to other countries, the local economy fell into recession as fewer foreign enthusiasts were visiting in search of those cookies. The downsides of this phenomenon extend beyond the financial aspects and damage individuals' mental health. Longing to try out a variety of exotic dishes is a driving factor behind travelling, the eradication of which prevents people from embarking on fascinating journeys. Additionally, without feeling the need to travel, individuals would be deprived of one of their most intriguing recreational activities which often provides them with a chance to rejuvenate. Hence, they'd be immersed in their daily hectic schedules, putting significant pressure on their mentality, and contributing to numerous mental diseases such as depression. To illustrate, European students who conveniently have access to foreign meals, travel less and often report lower levels of life satisfaction. In conclusion, In spite of some merits of having foods being produced in other parts of the world, I firmly believe its devastating effects are substantial. In fact, it is detrimental to not only the countries' national economy but also to individuals' mental health.