Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subject that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Does advanced community require skilled people in certain areas only? Few may debate that the government should disburse funds to universities for students whose research is required by society. However, other students who choose less important subjects should not be given grants by the government. Although there are few drawbacks to such official grants, I believe the advantages certainly outweigh them. The first benefit of financial aid is that the government can lure students for advanced studies as it has been noticed that few areas are sparse in skilled labours. For example, In India, we can merely see sewage treatment plants because students are least interested in doing research on the same. Government subsidies on such research would definitely assist in developing talent in desired fields. Similarly, multiple programs have been initiated by the government in the field of biotechnology as well. Secondly, the aforementioned educational policies are also focused on the uplift the poor section of society. It creates a sense of confidence among talented and needy scholars, which are facing financial problems since childhood because of unemployed parents. For example, Dr C.V Raman belonged to a poor family in Kerala and he was able to acquire his degree in space exploration with the help of grants by the government of India. Finally, these monetary schemes create a sense of competition among students and benefits both parties. On the other hand, disbursing funds for subjects that are the least contributor to society creates an unnecessary burden on the government's annual budgets. As per the survey conducted by the "Welfare Society of India", Research shows that 10 million grants were spent on history scholars fees. However, such students are only learning about the past but not future technologies. Additionally, financial grants for all students weaken the whole idea of competition. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that while educational policy to grant subsidies to few talented students only may have some disadvantages, I believe that advantages are far more.