Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subject that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people believe that society needs experts in some disciplines and the government should provide funds only to the scholars studying the related curriculum. The professionals and students of less relevant courses should not be given any kind of fellowships. I strongly disagree with the proposal because who will decide what is relevant or not relevant to society. In a sustainable and smart city, the contribution of each field is required. This essay will demonstrate why its proponents are wrong. To begin with, the first and foremost drawback of this proposal is that it will degrade the education system and talent of the individual. If some disciplines are designated as more superior and entitled to scholarships then everybody will start running after those courses whether having an interest in them or not. It will ultimately lower the productivity of students. For instance, If Ram is excellent at studying history but he chooses to engineer over it. It will definitely be going to decrease his efficiency and history is as important as engineering as it preserves our ancestors' lifestyle and our future generation will not be aware of their evolution. Secondly, it will create disturbance in the community. A sustainable community is one that requires experts in each and every field such as teachers, engineers, artists, managers, and even sewage cleaners. If some professionals are considered superior and skilled then everybody will try to grab the funding for the same. Ultimately, the situation will reverse because these experts became less required and other fields become more prominent. This situation creates disbalance in the associations. For example, the major portion of Venezuela's economy relies on the transportation of oil and natural gas. In the corona,pandemic all modes of transportation stopped and nobody bought oil from Venezuela, results in an economic turndown. Therefore, the countries should have focussed on all fields. To conclude, many people argued that in the modern world only professionals in some fields are needed and others are less important. Therefore, the government should pay funding to specific subjects. In my opinion, in today's,society there is no field that is introduced in the curriculum and not relevant to the community. Hence, each and every branch of education should be entitled to government fellowships.