Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a trend in which people are keen to launch their own business instead of being employed by other enterprises. This essay will discuss the reason and the potential downsides behind this tendency. In my opinion, being self-employed could bring about higher financial profits. Compared to ordinary staff in companies who get a fixed salary from their employer every month, freelancers obtain higher autonomy of earning their own money because they can decide their work-pace and type of business they feel interested in. For example, a large number of young people who own their own video page on YouTube, attracting heaps of people following them. These followers might help them earn tons of money that is more than a monthly salary. Only a tiny part of the revenue will be shared with the video platform, which is unlike working in a company where you are not earning money for yourself but for the whole company. Despite the financial advantage mentioned above, the downside of freelancers lies in the higher risk of failure, which means those people might not gain higher income. Freelancers must make extra effort to create profitable products so that they can sustain their business. If a video blogger could not keep making qualified videos at a stable time rate, they can hardly earn money from that. If it is the case, due to the status in which they are not under any relationship with other companies, they might find it difficult to cover their living expense in a long run. To sum up, in terms of own business, the promising prospective income exists along with the challenge of maintaining its operation.