Some people think it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Whereas there are some individuals who believe we should make friends with those who share similar opinions, others are of the opposite opinion. I believe that both ideas can be logical to some extent. Forging a friendship with like-minded people has some benefits. First of all, individuals can enjoy a peaceful relationship with no misunderstandings, fights, or discussions because they get along very well with each other, share a similar attitude towards everything. They can also predict the other one’s taste and favorites. For example, they can easily reach an agreement about their holiday destination or the music which is played in the car during their trip,since they have similar interests and a lot in common. Secondly, there is a group of people who have a dependent personality. They cannot make a decision decisively because they do not have belief in themselves. They need the other’s confirmation, support, and agreement; thus, if they face opposite-minded friends who criticize them, they will take wrong steps and lose their confidence; as a result, they should be surrounded by like-minded people who always support them unconditionally. On the other hand, by forging friendships with people who do not think like us and have different attitudes towards things, we can benefit more various solutions and new practical ideas when facing difficulties; therefore, we can cope with obstacles more flexibly and by methods which we could probably never have thought of. Moreover, by having different-minded friends, we will learn that people do not always agree with us as well as the fact that we are not always right,so we will accept disagreements and ideas which are against our views more easily. In conclusion, we can benefit from having friendships with both compatible and incompatible friends. To be more precise, individuals should choose their friends based on their characteristics; there is no specific prescription that matches all.