Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Raising the fuel price is thought to be the most influential solution to solve the traffic congestion issue. This essay agrees that soaring the price of petrol will contribute to rising citizens' tendency to use public transport and decreasing air pollution due to the fewer number of personal vehicles. Rising petrol price motivates people to utilize public transport. This is because driving personal cars requires more fuel to burn; consequently, people might be forced to pay a considerable portion of their income, which does not seem wise to them. Therefore, higher petrol price automatically pushes people to prefer public transport over private vehicles. This is illustrated by the fact that, 40% of employees, in 2022, in New Zealand stopped driving to work and they started using public transport. They believe that using public transport helped them to save more money. Additionally, fewer number of cars, especially personal ones, lead to lesser air pollution. In other words, if citizens do not drive their private cars to get to work, fewer cars will be on the streets, which can cause the air pollution to be decreased. In the Netherlands, for example, 60% of white-collars ride a bicycle for their commutation, which has led to a remarkable decline in air pollution rate in this country. In conclusion, after considering the above-mentioned points, it can be deduced that there is a direct relationship between petrol price and air pollution. In other words, the more costly the petrol price is, the more interest in using public transport will be and the less the air pollution will be.