Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss Both views and give your opinion.

There are two conflicting ideas about advertisements nowadays. One is that these are still believed to be effective in encouraging people to purchase items while others say that these commercials are, most of the time, ignored because of their commonality. This essay will explain both arguments mentioned above and the writer’s opinion on the matter. Traditionally, advertisements are mainly used to popularize a certain brand of product. These commercials tend to leave a strong impact on consumers because of their entertaining effect. In addition, the advertisements show us the particular features and advantages of certain items. They serve as a product review on how and when this item is likely to be used and who can benefit from this product more. Furthermore, it should not be forgotten that advertisements do not only sell products, but also prompt consumers of issues and announcements that need immediate action such as promoting the registration of voters and following health protocols like frequent handwashing. On the other hand, many people do not pay attention to advertisements since they are seen everywhere. Some of the commercials, whether on TV or in publications, are too repetitive. We get accustomed to these too much that we do not recognize them as special or even important. Additionally, especially on the internet, viewers can have the option to skip an ad when watching videos. Some of these short commercials play in the middle of a video thereby disrupting and annoying the viewer. Printed ads like signs are billboards litter the roadsides in cities and distract commuters that pass by. In summary, ads are used to impart information in many ways. They do not only raise awareness of a particular brand, but they also remind the public of certain services and issues. As such, these are definitely going to be a part of our daily lives.