Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth rather than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the stars are known more for their charm and riches rather than their accomplishments. And I agree that the youth are negatively impacted by this. In the essay, I will try to explain how this trend affects young minds and what are the negative impacts of the same. Young people are more attracted to the extravagant lifestyle and physical appearances of celebrities. Being at the adolescent age, they want to stand apart from the rest of their peers. They start picking up the mannerisms of their idols. For example, consider a star smoking on the screen of a blockbuster movie. Many youngsters watch the movie and take it as a fact that smoking is a way to look superior to your peers. But in reality, smoking is habit-forming and very harmful for their health. In addition to that, sadly, we live in a very materialistic age. A person's value and status in society are determined by how much money he has, what car he has and so on. The youth want to lead such a life but are not ready to put in the work to get to the position of making such a life for themselves. Some of them resort to shortcuts in the path to success. For instance, one of the kids in the neighbourhood was so caught up in one of the shows that he got involved in drug peddling and ended up in jail. In conclusion, I would like to say that the facade of beauty and exuberant lifestyles of famous people has a negative impact on the minds of kids unless they have been taught that there is no shortcut to success.