Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that increasing the number of sporting areas is the best way to make public well-being better, whereas others believe that it would not be beneficial as it is mandatory to take different means to achieve that goal. This essay agrees more with the latter, rather than the former view. Society believes that there is a small number of sports centres available for the public, reason why the citizens are unhealthy. Additionally, the ones already in use are full and there is no space for everyone to be able to include physical activities in their everyday routine. To put it in other hand, according to this, it means that improvement of the population’s health would be able only if these centres become more convenient and accessible for the larger scale. For example, in,Manchester there are two sports centres and the average inhabitant is fit, whereas in Newbury that no sports centres are available to citizens, the population is mostly obese and suffers from heart disease more often. The remaining part believes that the solution to this problem is not building extra athletics facilities, but other means should be taken by the government. An illustration of how to achieve better results for the populations' health, is by imposing taxation on unhealthy foods and drinks or making it mandatory to get involved in sports at least 30 minutes a day five days a week. For instance, in communist countries in 1950 the working class was obliged to come to work 30 minutes early so physical activity such as gymnastics or jogging would be undertaken before starting the working hours. To conclude, while it would be a great solution to add more public gyms in order to improve public health. In my,opinion the greatest results will be seen only if a variety of actions will be undertaken by the local government.