Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that adolescents have to do free work for the community they live in during their spare time. It is believed that both the community and the teenagers will gain benefit from this. This essay agrees with the statement because volunteering helps the youth to gain life experiences and it also allows society to reap the benefit of it in different aspects of their everyday life. Nowadays, most people aged 13 to 19 years old are willing to do free work to help others in need. They believe that by doing this, it will make them better members of the society, besides the fact that volunteering may be a massive plus in their curriculum when applying for a degree. To put it in other words, voluenteering seems to be one of the top contributing factors in achieving higher scores in psycho-social tests undertaken for students before applying for college. For example, univerisities such as UCL or KCL receive plenty of applications by excellent students, albeit they tend do accept the ones who have spent time in helping others in a way or another through volunteering. On the other hand, the community needs people to help them in different aspects of their everyday life. In other words, some might need a person to help with cleaning the streets of the neighbour, some others might need people to direct kids to cross the road from one end to the other. Aa great illustration of this is that, in some towns near Liverpool, a campain was launched by the local government to look for volunteers so elderlies in nursing homes can spend some quality time with youngsters. To conclude, not only these adolescents will help themselves by improving their social skills or by being admitted in top universities, the community will also reap a considerable benefit by youngsters of the society.