In many countries, students attend private ‘cram schools’ for extra coaching in test-taking techniques. What is your view of this practice?

Attending extracurricular classes to enhance students’ ability in taking exams have become more common in the recent years. The necessity of these courses are the topic of much discussion. I firmly believe, given they do not put too much stress on pupils, exam preparation centers can be generally helpful. To begin with, Institutions providing exam improvement classes actually help students to receive admission to universities and high schools. Although the practice may seem unethical and wrong by some, these classes have proven to give test-takers the extra push needed to access better education. They do this by raising the confidence of students prior to tests and assisting them in maintaining focus. For instance, some pupils may have bright futures, but they could be denied entry to top universities due to the examination system. Therefore, a short course on relevant exam-taking skills can make a massive impact in their life and future endeavors. Nevertheless, there are issues that may arise from conducting such classes. Firstly, the amount of stress and pressure that students may face during the course could have negative effect on their well-being. Furthermore, focusing more on memorizing for a test beats the whole purpose of education which should be about learning and critical thinking rather than rote learning. However, the root of these problems is not after-school classes but the education system that does not emphasis on learning as much as assessments through examinations. Hence, such challenges are unavoidable at these schools. To draw a conclusion, in my opinion as long as there are no real alterations to how grades are determined in our educations systems, extra classes for taking exams can be viewed as generally beneficial to attendees. While there are difficulties that pupils will face, these institutions are not solely to be blamed.