Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether insightful information in industrial or research fields should be disseminated widely without any charges or not has been the topic of much debate. In this essay both sides of the argument will be elaborated briefly. On the one hand, some hold the opinion that knowledge shared without any cost is beneficial for the world on the grounds that it will enable new possibilities for everyone. In other words, reliable research findings are backed with evidence and therefore are the backbone to practical measures. If the public, consisting of business owners and researchers, obtain valuable information cost-free, they will have the chance to improve their undertakings. For instance, once university students access more resources, they could conduct more accurate and thorough researches leading to a rise in fruitful findings in various areas of study. On the other hand, there are those who oppose the aforementioned view in that much work and funding is required to reach any worthy research discovery. Hence, disclosing the information free of charge is not financially sound, and it could increase scientific fraud and disinformation. According to this view, premium access to research papers only ensures the reliability of the published data as well as a return on investment for the scientists and the organizations that provide the budgets. To illustrate, scientific journals such as JSTOR and Nature allocate some of their revenues to purchase articles and also to evaluate them prior to publishing. To draw a conclusion, there are opposing views on the practice of free access to research papers. In my opinion, making all scientific data available for the general public and practitioners alike will only result in positive outcomes such as more research output and innovative productions. Furthermore, some of the concerns on budgeting and faulty information can be resolved through government funding and more rigid critical assessments.