The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, with the advances in technology, online shopping has grown in popularity and demand. Some argue that this phenomenon could even lead to the permanent closure of stores and outlets in the urban and rural areas. However, I completely disagree with this prediction for a few reasons which I will elucidate further. Firstly, shopping is one of the most sought-after recreational activity of people in most countries. Individuals enjoy spending their pastime shopping for clothes, accessories and electronics with their friends and families, which also enables to strengthen their bonds. Another factor to support my view is the inaccuracy of photographs or descriptions provided by online retailers as images online are most often photoshopped to entice the buyers which is misleading. Due to this, some buyers still prefer to view, feel and test in person at the retail stores before making a purchase. This is especially applicable to personal use items, for example, cosmetics, perfume and clothing. Lastly, some designer brands that dominate myriads of stores in big cities and shopping malls are not available for online purchases. Customers fondness of the exclusivity and by-passers’ enjoyment of window shopping deter the possibilities of those stores shutting down. Admittedly, it is true that shopping for products online has its perks such as convenience and efficiency as purchasing products are done via a click. For instance, with the ease of internet access, one can make an instant buy just from his mobile phone and the product can be delivered within a day. Nonetheless, it is a little excessive to say that these capabilities have an effect profound enough to create cities devoid of physical shops. To conclude, I believe stronger arguments are in favour of the impossibility of physical stores vanishing due to incline in popularity of online purchases. This is because shopping is still the most common hobby of individuals, shoppers’ awareness of the delusions of content online and large fashion brands not offering online service due to their exclusiveness.