Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The conventional form of working in a company has been challenged recently with freelancing and self-employment by many. Unfair salaries in organizations and the liberties one benefits from working on their own could be the causes of this trend. This essay will elaborate the reasons behind this shift as well as some of its drawbacks. To commence with, employees do not receive a just treatment at work in many organizations they work for. As an example, a photographer working for an advertising agency is paid a fixed salary no matter the workload during a month. Consequently, dissatisfaction occurs and the person may lose interest in his or her job as employers can be demanding and put workers under a lot of pressure. Therefore, quitting the work environment with the hope of finding more suitable and fruitful modes of working is foreseeable. Nonetheless, self-employment could impose some issues in terms of job and financial security. For instance, it is often understood that freelancers are less compatible compared to their employed counterparts who work in large organizations. Hence, clients are not willing to spend the requested charges for the tasks at hand and usually bargain for cheaper prices or refuse to trust the self-employed workers. Furthermore, those who work in corporations are typically entitled to retirement fund and health insurance; a perk that the freelancers do not enjoy and might have difficulties to pull through difficult times. To draw a conclusion, the traditional working norm of obliging a morning to afternoon working routine has experienced some changes as more people are establishing their own line of business. This is due to the unjust salaries and illogical working practices in many corporations. However, there are problems such as job security and possible future financial burdens to be faced with this decision.