Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and school. To what extent do you agree or disagree? – Disagree -

In a world filled with technology, many people claim that youngsters can acquire knowledge efficiently through watching television. Accordingly, parents should stimulate their offspring to expose to screen at both home and school environments. Considering the risky behavior associated with uncensored television shows, I cannot entirely agree. Those who argue that children can perceive valuable information from watching television indicate the educated ness of TV programs. In simple words, as children grow and develop, they are undoubtedly influenced by what they see and what they hear, especially from digital devices, and thereby the TV programs impact them directly on their daily practices. Some shows are educative and informative, which offer children a gateway to expand their understanding. For instance, preschoolers can get help learning the alphabet or standard Math formulas on national television, or grade-schooler can engage in educational games on entertaining shows. It implies that TV is an essential tool to develop children ’s cognition; adults should allow more screen time. However, excessive screentime can cause numerous health problems. It is because TV shows are often addictive as a mean of entertainment, drawing children complete attention to the screen. The situation is made worse by the fact that lengthy exposure to the blue light emitted by the television would not only gradually damage children ’s eyesight but also jeopardize their ability to concentrate. Moreover, as children are so focused on the screen that they would restrain themselves from healthier activities such as playing sports, televisions are also the main culprit of causing obesity, heart disease and other illness due to lack of regular exercise. As a result, overuse of digital screen is an infringement to health. In conclusion, although televisions can benefit children in terms of education, their negative effects on their well-being can’t be ignored