The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Across the globe, less and less families are having their meals together owing to busy schedules and different priorities of people nowadays. This is resulting in family members being detached from one another and eroding the sense of community of individuals. These days, people are not sitting down to eat together due to hectic schedules of most of the family members. The people are busier than ever often with clashing schedules, whether it is demanding work appointments or multiple class assignments and they simply do not have the time to have a meal together. Additionally, with the popularity of social media people simply do not make mealtimes together a priority; they would much rather de-stress from a tiring day in front of the TV. Not sharing meals together will have harmful impacts on families and the society on the whole. Meal time is an important part of the day during which all the daily requirements are put on hold and the relatives can simply talk to each other. In fact, parents will get informed of any troubles their children are going through or even notice any signs that something is bothering them. Moreover, people being unable to bond during mealtimes will result in a somewhat defragmented society as well. The people will have no sense of community and will isolate themselves from their loved ones and from society as well. In conclusion, gathering at the dining table brings family together not only for meals but also as a way of keeping in touch with each other. This tradition has been fading away because most people have busy lives and they simply don’t make this a priority. This has led to people being detached from their families and from society as a whole.