Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are many different views as to whether the younger generation should follow traditions or that they should be given the freedom to behave as individuals; this makes it a highly contentious issue. This essay will look at both sides of the debate and then offer an opinion, Traditions are what shape a country, they represent the ethos and the history of the nation, making the people distinct from one another. I feel it is important to maintain traditions such as clothing, foods, or cultural practices as they offer cultural identity and a sense of belonging. Furthermore, a country ’s traditions are attractive to tourists, wishing to immerse themselves in the country ’s heritage, they buy traditional items, take part in traditional activities, and often seek out experiences where they can learn more about the country they are visiting; thus, bringing in income and further promoting tourism. Additionally, if the younger generation do not adopt certain traditions they will no longer exist. In my country for example items such as the Non la or the conical hat is made by hand, the technique is passed on generation to generation. If younger people show no interest in this craft we will lose a big part of our cultural history. Finally, traditions have survived for generations for a reason, they are often the best way to move forward. The Vietnamese people for example, have traditionally been hardworking and in our culture we respect each other especially the elderly and these traditions have made Vietnam the country it is now. Nevertheless, we should acknowledge that young people should be able to freely express themselves. Some social and family traditions can be seen as old fashioned, obsolete and in some cases oppressive today. Globalization has meant the world has grown smaller, enabling exchange of ideas and technology. Many new technologies and innovations have enabled economic growth when adopted over more traditional methods. Younger people have more access to other ideologies and ways of thinking which in some countries has led to positive moves such as gender equality and greater opportunities. For example, it was traditional in Vietnam to get married early and start a family, this led to many women not being able to further their careers, changes in this attitude has meant that more women can advance their careers and ensure financial stability when they decide to start a family. In conclusion I believe there are merits on both sides of the debate. However, I feel that abandoning some traditions would be detrimental to a country ’s rich heritage. The youth of today should be able to select the traditions they abide by keeping in mind those that preserve their heritage and abandoning some of those societal traditions that are constrictive to living in the 21st century.