In many cities many people are living in apartments and condominiums. Do these types of accommodations offer more advantages or disadvantages?

An increasing number of people are choosing to live in apartment blocks or high-rise condominiums nowadays. From my point of view, although these accommodations are often more affordable, they offer cluster living space and can present some serious dangers such as fire risks. On the one hand, one of the advantages of living in an apartment block or a condominium is that it is more affordable for many people who want to reside in urban areas. To illustrate, with an increase in population, land, especially in many big cities, is becoming more expensive. As a result, many people are not able to afford a house. Apartment blocks and high-rise condominiums require a small area of land, but they can provide lots of rooms that enable people on low incomes to live near city centres and near their jobs. Moreover, living in smaller accommodations means spending less on maintenance costs and utility bills, compared with living in a big house. On the other hand, the obvious drawback of living in apartments or condominiums is that there is no outdoor area. In some cases, this can cause a problem for families because each member of the family has limited personal space, which can lead to tension in some families. Another problem is that there is no space for exercise, which is an essential factor for people to maintain their healthy living. In addition, the fire risk is one of the worst issues of living in a high-rise condominium. It is undeniable that people can be easily trapped on the top floor, and are unable to escape from a fire if the fire breaks out in one of the rooms. This could be unfortunately illustrated by many incidents that were often reported on the news. To summarize, it is true to say that apartment blocks or condominiums may offer a cheaper living option, but they also offer lower quality accommodation with some risks of fire.