In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our contemporary society, in many families, both parents have to work in order to secure their families financially. This tendency ensures a better quality of life for all the family members. Children get an opportunity to properly eat and get an education. However, children may experience a lack of parental care and support. I personally believe that there are many advantages if both parents go out to work. Nevertheless, they should not neglect their children's need for care and parental love. To commence, additional income generated by the second parent can sufficiently improve a family's quality of life. For instance, if the mother's salary is allocated for accommodation, utilities and taxes, then, the father's salary can be spent on education and other basic family needs. Apparently, it is difficult for only one person to cover all the expenses in our contemporary society. Moreover, children can enjoy having luxurious lifestyles, because parents can afford, buying clothes, state-of-the-art technology, nutritious food and the like. On the other hand, adolescents may feel a lack of parental care, because both of them are constantly busy with their jobs. As a result, children may fall into depression and get mental issues. On top of that, parents cannot control their juveniles while they are in the workplace. Thus, children may be affected by their peers or even become gang members. Nonetheless, I believe that these negative outcomes can be avoided if parents pay more attention to their children apart from their working hours. For example, my mother and father both used to work for as long as I can remember. My mother was a teacher, she used to spend her free time reading books for me or doing homework together with me. Therefore, I have never felt any lack of support. To conclude, I am convinced that both parents working has more merits rather than demerits. Even so, they should spend their free time with their juveniles to nurture mentally healthy individuals.