In Britain when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It is true that some senior citizens' care centers are subsidised by the government. A segment of society is convinced that the government should take care of elderly people in specialized centers. While others believe that the family should take the ultimate responsibility for that. I personally believe that senior citizens have been paying taxes and some of them devoted their lives for the prosperity of the country, thus, the government should take care of them when necessary. To commence, the elderly have been paying taxes during their working lives, that should be used for their care after they retire. It is not right for the government to disown people after many years of their labor. Secondly, if young individuals know that the government will take care of them, they will be free of thoughts about financially securing their retirement and can focus on being more productive at the workplace and keep paying the taxes. For example, in Uzbekistan, many go to overseas to find better employment opportunities with higher salaries, only to secure their elderly ages. Adding further, oftentimes elderly people require special care due to the condition of their health. However, family members may not be trained for that. For instance, they may be prescribed to have a strict diet, or weak health may be the reason for heart attacks. Therefore, senior citizens should be allocated to nursing homes. Moreover, grandparents can have a quality time there together with their peers and like-minded people, rather than staying at home, all alone slouching in front of TV. Subsequently, these centers facilitate mental and physical health of aged individuals. To conclude, I personally feel that the government should provide financial help to maintain retirement homes. This would benefit the elderly and the economy in the long run.