Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a contemporary community, experts in certain fields like health care, law and so on are required. With respect to that, some people believe that the university fees of only the students who are required by society will be paid and not the ones with less relevant subjects. The essay below will outline the advantages and disadvantages of such an educational policy. The benefit of the approach cannot be overlooked. To illustrate, spending valuable government funding on pupils who are pursuing careers that are needed in society, will ensure that the wealth of the administration is not misspent. This is because the administration's funds are extremely important for the development of the country. To put it more simply, instead of squandering money on pupils who are taking irrelevant subjects, if the authority uses that capital to build more highways, train stations, accommodations, etc then the nation would reach new extremities of advancement. Thus, it would be more profitable to use the legislation's capital on tutees who would become the society's assets in the future and in the process, save money for the state's development. Despite this, however, the drawback of the proposal is worth noticing. For instance, the act of not giving government funding to the pupils who are taking up careers that do not have a major role in society would be deemed as biased or unfair. Consequently, they would feel demotivated and the number of students pursuing those subjects would decrease and start taking the courses which are considered to be paramount for the community. Hence, it would be a huge loss for the society and administration both as there would be no diversity in professions and ultimately engender a large sum of capital being spent on university fees. To conclude, paying only the university fees of the students who are pursuing important courses is advantageous as it would save the valuable wealth of the government but it would also demotivate undergraduates and they may all start studying the courses which are considered as paramount by the society, resulting it to be disadvantageous.