Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is true that many families tend to send the elderly to nursing facilities, instead of taking care of them at home. This essay highlight both the benefits and drawbacks of such an approach. To begin with the positives, one of the advantages of nursing homes is intensive care. This is because they have professionally-trained staff, who can provide specialized care and appropriate diets for old patients. While looking after old people at home, many families can only meet basic needs such as dressing, bathing, and eating. Besides special care, nursing homes also offer leisure activities that the aged can take part in. Clubbing, for example, is conducted for old people to join and share common interests with others living there. Therefore, they can befriend fellow people, which makes them feels a sense of community and relieves loneliness feelings a feeling of loneliness. However, caring for elderly people in nursing facilities does present some problems, one of which is the cost of living. The reason for this is that nursing homes cost often highly expensive, and families cannot afford to pay for this form of care. For instance, in the US, a private room in nursing facilities can cost up to 300 thousand dollars for a month and cost roughly 100 thousand dollars for a shared one. Another issue is that old people must live away from their families because nursing places may be far from their homes. As a result, their relatives can only visit them at weekends or holidays, which means that the elderly living in nursing homes may lack family bonds. In conclusion, although nursing homes can bring professional care and social bonding, these places are also costly and lead lack of the presence of families.