Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

While in the past people were willing to work for others, these days individuals tend to work for their own business. In this way, they would not only have more freedom but also earn more money, although, self-employment may have some negative points. There are various reasons to be self-employed. Firstly, people could be their own boss as a consequence, it is not necessary to obey others order and have more liberty. For instance, the person is not forced to go to work early morning and come back at a specific time. Therefore, they have flexible hours to do their work whenever they want. Secondly, when somebody is self-employed all money that he earns is for himselfe. In the other words, they have more motivation to expend their jobs to gain more profits so that they reach a better career prospect in several dimensions. On the other hand, being self-employed have some drawbacks. It would be riskier because these persons may face bankruptcy and lose their own investment and since they do not have a fixed salary they may get in trouble to provide living expenses. Moreover, having a business brings more responsibilities. Self-employed individuals are more likely to go to work on holidays or at weekends due to heavy workloads. Hence, it would be a demanding job with less spare time. In conclusion, today's people because of liberty in work environment and make more money, prefer to establish their own business even though self-employee has some problems and difficulties such as losing their money and shouldering high level of responsibilities.