“ Many people think that men should go out to work while women’s place is in the home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

Gender roles have always been the topic of heated dispute. It is believed by many that women should play a more active role in society, while others oppose this idea, and advocate the traditional mindset that obliges men to work outside and women to remain as housewives. I strongly support the latter view for the following reasons. First and foremost, promoting gender equality benefits both society and individuals alike. Women and men may have different biological attributes, but suppressing either gender with social pressure does not help them flourish. For instance, female political leaders such as Angela Merkel are among the most powerful and progressive leaders globally. If these strong women were forced to stay at home to do house chores, the world would be deprived of such iconic characters. Therefore, these popular gender norms do not apply to today's world, and we need to rethink them. Moreover, some men may be better at staying at home instead of working outside. In other words, the opposite is also true about gender roles. To illustrate, in many developed countries, it is now common for wives to work regular jobs, while their husbands take care of children and other domestic errands. These men report being extremely satisfied with their situation. Hence, not all men are built to work under stress for long hours and prefer to have a more subtle lifestyle doing tasks that require more patience. In conclusion, regarding the issue of male and female roles in society, I hold the opinion that the dynamics are changing around the world. Thus, we should accept the transformation of previously common notions. Although both genders may hold certain inherent abilities that differ from one another, each individual ought to be able to determine his or her own destiny.