In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Concerning clothing, people are forgetting the root of their traditions under the influence of western-style dress. We might have noticed that in recent years people tend to wear suits and jeans rather than their traditional clothes. I believe that this trend is a negative development and this essay tends to support this idea. The fashion and advertising industries are the root causes of people's tendency to western-style dress. These two industries are very powerful corporations that fuel many other industries. They have a huge amount of revenue and they play an indispensable role in the individual’s preferences. Their activities come in sequence. First the fashion industry invents a style and then the advertising industry plays its own part to tempt people to buy the products. These kinds of advertisements lure people to buy goods without the insight into what really benefits their culture. The second major reason behind this trend is the development of high-tech devices which made mass production possible. Mass production along with the low-quality materials in turn results in the low-price dresses. Many traditional clothes are handmade and they are made of high-quality fabrics which can be used for a long period. Therefore, they are costly which is actually reasonable. This situation leads that to the less popularity of traditional clothing in many middle-class and low-class citizens. I believe that this development is a negative one that can have destructive effects on society. First of all, although the world today is more a small well-linked global village rather than separate entities, it is very important that different traditions such as food, clothing, culture and etc. followed by the citizens of each country. This not only results in maintaining the individual and identity of different nations but also attracts many tourists who are willing to visit countries with different traditions. Which in turn may result in a rise in the total revenue of the country. Secondly wearing jeans and suits may lead to vanishing many traditional jobs and the stores related to traditional clothing. In conclusion, I believe that there are many reasons involving this trend and it has adverse impacts on societies. Familiarizing youngsters with traditional clothes is of significant importance in reversing this trend.