With the latest technological advancements, dating is now possible online. Would you recommend online dating for your single friends? What are the advantages and disadvantages of online dating? Site some examples to support your answer.

Social networks have become a part of our life and fewer people meet on the street, or in public places now than in the past, and more often, they do it by using the Internet. There are both advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon, but I, in turn, would not recommend such sites to someone I know. Some of the advantages of internet dating are that it spares time, as well as gives opportunity to meet many more people and at anytime. There are no restrictions on the number of acquaintances on the Internet. It is possible to conduct relationships and correspondence with several people at the same time. The Internet opens the boundaries and a person can find people not only for love relationships, but also for friendship. For example, I was able to get acquainted with an interesting person, who subsequently became my good friend. Besides, it is a convenient way to meet and communicate for busy people, who do not have time for personal meetings. However, dating on the internet has its negative sides. First, people may impersonate, or pretend to be someone they are not actually. While a person is chatting on the Internet, he or she does not know what the interlocutor really looks like. There are people who deliberately hide their appearance and deceive. Furthermore, the Internet is full of scammers who have bad intentions and want to get rich at someone else's expense. A good illustration would be the story of my female classmate, who met a person on a dating site. Afterwards, he turned out to be a fraud who offered her to go to a questionable site using a link that he sent her. Fortunately, she did not do this and everything worked out. In conclusion, searching for a partner or a friend on the Internet is gaining popularity and has both pros and cons. Nevertheless, I believe that only at a personal meeting is it possible to find out what kind of person someone really is, and therefore I do not consider online dating a good idea.