The personal information of many individuals is held by large companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The use large companies make of people's personal information is a matter of serious concern and should be treated accordingly. While there might be a few benefits in having sensitive information in the hands of the marketers, it actually makes everyone a potential target of scam, fraud or manipulation. In my opinion, governments should set up strict laws to protect citizens from these hazards. Having personal data under the control of companies can bring some benefits to people, especially in terms of convenience. For example, it is common to have Facebook, Netflix and Amazon accounts linked along with banking access. In this way, people can renew subscriptions, pay for services or do shopping without even having to look for their wallet. In addition, the recommendation algorithms of those websites save people's time by shortlisting products the system understands would be suitable for the user. Considering these actions, companies claim to use people's personal information only to provide the best possible service. Unfortunately, there are numerous concerns regarding personal data management. Firstly, everything is related to bank accounts and payment services. Evidence suggests that these days, computer fraud and online scams have skyrocketed, turning it into the most common crime in many developed countries. Secondly, the much-loved recommendation algorithms that appear to be mind-readers of consumers, are known for promoting addictive behaviours, sleeping disorders and manipulating users to feel they need products that are actually not necessary. Experts all over the world are clamouring for the governments to strengthen the laws concerning data management as it is being used against individuals. To sum up, although there might exist a few advantages in the access companies have to people's personal information, the cost is becoming incredibly high. Governments should follow experts' advice and not only raise awareness among civilians but also increase control over companies and organizations.