Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private healthcare outweigh the disadvantages?

It is becoming increasingly common for individuals to pay more attention to personal healthcare and some people believe that medical systems are not supposed to be managed by profitable corporations. I am fully convinced that the benefits of private healthcare outnumber the drawbacks. Undeniably, patients can obtain attentive service in profit-oriented hospitals. That is because these financially rewarding companies have more money to run the whole system than the state hospitals, which means that they are capable of hiring enough doctors and nurses. Therefore, patients can benefit from faster treatment rather than waiting for several months. For instance, there are a number of shorter waiting lists for operations and appointments so that they have more opportunities to recover, especially for the patients having urgent requirements for beds, such as individuals who need to transplant organs. What is more, private healthcare is able to provide VIP service, which allows sick people to have their own single rooms and enjoy comfortable facilities. In contrast, public hospitals in most countries are usually overcrowded and underfunded, putting a lot of pressure on medical staff in order to improve efficiency so that more people can be treated. It is true that medical treatment plays an essential role in our daily life, so excellent medical resources should be available to everyone. However, once private healthcare became a norm in society, it may lead to inequality, for the reason that only wealthy people can afford it, so ordinary people will not have the access to the same quality of treatment. Besides, the costly medical charges also put a heavy financial burden on citizens and may result in the decline of people ’s life quality, especially for ordinary families, such as the working class. In conclusion, while admitting the negative influence of profit-driven hospitals, I personally reckon that the merits are more significant, considering private healthcare offer better service and treat patients more effective, which reduce a great deal of waiting time.