~*Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them*

Nowadays, there is an increasing trend of automobile usage among people either for personal or commercial purposes especially in cities, among these road users are cyclists and car drivers who ply the same route, situations like this come with some issues. This essay will discuss some of the issues and suggest possible ways out To begin with, road sharing by various commuters increases the traffic jam along major city roads. This increases the amount of time which can be channelled to a more productive use. In turn, this time be wasted on their journey. For instance, the Lagos-Ikeja Ring road which is a link to every street across the state experiences gridlock on a daily basis as a result of impatient cyclists and car drivers navigating the road. A means to address this problem is for the government to construct alternative routes for bike users such as sideway lanes and underground cycling paths for them. Furthermore, efforts to overtake among road travellers have caused a tremendous rise in occurrence of road traffic accidents(RTA) across the globe. According to America Trauma Association statistics, there has been a surge in RTAs over the past three decades, the incidence was stated to be as low as 5% in 1990 but has risen significantly to about 60% in 2020. This has led to many untimely deaths while traversing roads as compared to other means of transportation. In order to tackle this, the government should enforce speed limits and appropriate sanctions for those who disobey. In a nutshell, construction of driving paths compatible for bike riders and imposition of rules to regulate driving pace with appropriate punishments for defaulters will help reduce travelling delays incurred through hold up and road traffic accidents.