Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The latest technological advancements provide people with various entertainment resources. While there is an opinion that video games and films with violence could provoke many dire consequences and therefore should be banned, others disagree and think that it is just a way to unwind. In the essay, I will examine both views and explain why I consider that the content is dangerous not only for adults but also for children. First and foremost, mental stability is crucial nowadays. Indeed, when people are exposed to different stressors, it affects a lot on their mood. For example, while a person unconsciously absorbs negative information throughout screens, he is prone to constant feelings of depression and apprehension, and this, in turn, may even lead to suicide. Moreover, such a situation happens even if people do not perceive violence as something bad. The other point that is worth to be mentioned is the exposure of the young generation. Indeed, children are more sensitive to information that they see during playing or watching video games. As a result, when they are exposed to brutal scenes with murders, for example, a child might get used to violent actions and eventually consider abnormal behaviour as normal; thus, in the future, he could become a criminal or even a murder. That is why I think that we should prohibit children to play games that contain scary scenes. In conclusion, many people underestimate the influence of pictures that can be seen on screens. Regardless of whether people think that it is a relaxing activity, I think that there is a severe impact on adults because they become more depressed and on children since they change their attitude to the world.