Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions differ on whether children should be given homework. While there are strong arguments against this statement, I support the people who agree with homework. There are several reasons why some people believe giving homework to children is not necessary. Firstly, all subjects should be taught in school because parents do not have enough knowledge to understand and review them with their children. Secondly, the atmosphere at home is not well suited for learning new lessons. Finally, children need high-quality family time and being tied up with homework will make them departed and they could not get along with their parents and siblings. In spite of the above arguments, I support the people who agree that homework is a need for students because the lessons that are taught in schools should be practised in order to be fully learned by children. Not only this, but also it is a good practice to have a balance between learning and playing both at school and home. As playing will advance the process of learning they need to play with their classmates. Consequently, they should make up for it at home. Also, when children do their homework, their responsible parents will be aware of their educational development automatically. In conclusion, although homework may bring about some downsides, I think the merits of homework outweigh its demerits.