In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many individuals choose a basic dress style with suits and jeans avoiding traditional clothing. In this essay, I am going to discuss the influence of globalization on this social behaviour, and then explain why I strongly believe it is a negative evolution for modern society. Undoubtedly, the main reason for this modification in dress style is globalization. Given the influence of the internet and the worldwide presence of brands in different regions, population tend to purchase all the same kind of clothes as jeans pants and t-shirts. For example, watching ultimate blockbusters or flipping through magazines all models and celebrities influence juveniles to follow the same dress code. Furthermore, the use of traditional pieces of clothes is merely for special occasions, such as marriages or typical events. From my point of view, this is a negative development because it provokes the loss of own cultural identity and the bankruptcy of local businesses. Firstly, many national aspects are well-represented by traditional garbs. For instance, when a person wears a Kimono, immediately he is associated with the Japanese culture. Secondly, there is an unfair concurrence between international garment companies and local ones. Some famous brands installed their industries in underdeveloped countries attracted by tax benefits that are not extended to local companies. A good illustration is the displacement of the Zara industry from England to México, causing dozens of Mexican bankruptcies. In conclusion, given the raising of globalization in the last decades, there is a current tendency to wear similar pieces of clothes in many countries. On the other hand, I strongly think is quite vital to preserving traditional clothing, because it is the best way to maintain unique cultural identities, besides protecting many nations from deleterious economic impacts.