Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern digital era, many get the experience of violent entertainment in form of movies and games. While some believe that this experience is harmless and should be allowed to feel without any restrictions, my belief is that it should be censored to some extent to avoid harm to society. On the one hand, many argue that there is insufficient data to link violent entertainment to actual crimes. Most of the viewers or subscribers just require the temporary thrill and excitement which does not extend beyond that limit. Moreover, the young generation will be aware of the consequences of crimes through this mode of entertainment and highly likely to obey rules and behave as a good citizen. In addition, some may control their anger or stress by playing a shooting game rather than doing actual harm to anybody. Furthermore, researches indicate that violence received by these modes of entertainment help to balance hormone levels inside the human body as well. On the other hand, viewing such violent content without discretion can cause several harms to society as well. Firstly, children are likely to be impacted by this violent entertainment and can try to imitate what is being done in a movie or a game. This can lead to an increase in future crimes. Secondly, people with risky health conditions such as heart diseases could have issues if harmful content is not censored from movies or games. Hence, it is required to govern and regulate violent modes of entertainment. In conclusion, though there are positive outcomes of not censoring violent content of entertainment, the damage it does to society is unacceptable. In my view, governing bodies should involve and frequently monitor these entertainment modes, especially in developing countries like Sri Lanka.