Many Countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers?

Migration from countryside to urban areas has been a popular phenomenon in many nations of the world for many years. There are some reasons and impacts on city’s residents which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, the main cause of migration is the availability of more job opportunities in the cities. Due to the fact that in rural areas, jobs are mainly related to agriculture sector, which is being mechanized, less human resources are needed. Next, many young people are not into field work. They like to challenge themselves with more advance and high technology career. Many high tech companies are located in urban areas. Furthermore, the payment in many industrial and financing areas are much higher than that from agriculture work. For instance, according to recent research, the salary of banking sector on average is three times higher than that of agricultural sector. Last but not least, the young generation want to make big change to their life. They want to have a better future prospect for their next generation. Cities offer a lot of opportunities and have better infrastructure, health care and education facilities. There are two consequences stemmed from this phenomenon. Firstly, more people coming to the cities will place more pressure on the current infrastructure. Overcrowding and traffic congestion frequent from day to day. This can easily seen in many cities in not only in developing countries such as Thailand, Vietnam but also in more developed countries like Japan. Secondly, more people will result in more competition for the same job. On top of that, the flux of migrants will also cause housing prices accelerated. That is an inevitable consequence when the demand is becoming greater than the demand. To conclude, migration is an inevitable tendency that required the closed collaboration of government, companies and individuals. Living condition for rural areas should be paid more attention and improved.