Many Countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers?

Moving from the countries to urban regions has been a popular phenomenon in many nations of the world for many years. There are some reasons and impacts on the current local residents which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, the main cause of relocation is the availability of more job opportunities in towns. Due to the fact that in rural areas, jobs are mainly related to the agriculture sector, which is being mechanized, less labour force is needed. Next, many young people are not into farm work. They like to challenge themselves with more advanced and diversified careers. Many high-tech companies are located in urban areas. That is why they tend to move from their homeland to pursue their dream professions. Furthermore, the payment in many industrial and financing areas are much higher than that from agriculture work. For instance, according to recent research, the salary in the banking sector on average is two times higher than that of the agricultural sector. Last but not least, the young generation wants to make a big change to their life. They want to have a better future prospect for the next generation. Metropolis offer a lot of opportunities and have better infrastructure, health care service and education facilities. There are two consequences stemmed from this phenomenon. Firstly, more people coming to the cities will place more pressure on the current infrastructure. Overcrowding and traffic congestion occur from day to day. This can easily be seen in many cities like Bangkok, Hanoi and Tokyo. Secondly, more people will result in more competition for the same job. On top of that, the flux of migrants will also cause housing prices to accelerate. That is an inevitable consequence when the demand is becoming greater than the demand. To conclude, migration is an inevitable tendency that required the close collaboration of government, companies and individuals. Living conditions for rural areas should be paid more attention and improved.