Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music has been a part of our lives for centuries. It is often claimed that music can connect people from different backgrounds while some argue against this opinion. I somewhat agree with that statement. On the one hand, music can be an excellent tool for socialisation, making it easier to interact with people who you barely know. For instance, music is an important essence for parties to be enjoyable in some cultures. Without it, the party would be quiet, and there would be no dancing. In these situations, people might become less excited and less likely to initiate conversations with unfamiliar persons, especially with those whose cultural background is different. Additionally, famous songs are frequently appreciated by any age group from the young to the elderly. This will help people start talking about the famous songs, finding sympathy and becoming closer to each other even though there is a large gap between their ages. On the other hand, this is not always the case that music enhances people bonding. In Japan, for example, music is not as popular as in other countries since there is no dance culture, and the Japanese tend to prefer a quiet and calm environment rather than exciting surroundings such as listening to loud and high tempo music. Furthermore, the Japanese tend to be into music more during their adolescence. Therefore, the generation gap in their preferred music types cannot be avoided. This makes it difficult to chat about the songs which they like with people in different age groups; thus, using music as one of the tools for communication would not be feasible. In summary, music has the potential to connect people all over the world although some limitations exist.