Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The loss of individual species of plants and animals currently brings about harmful effects on the environment. While some people believe the levels of these problems should be strictly controlled and considered, I would argue that other factors play a major role in environmental problems. On the one hand, it is believed that particular species of plants and animals are the main environmental problem. Firstly, since modern life is getting busier than in the past, businesses tend to cut down trees, clear forests to get land for construction. Therefore, this leads to erosion, landslides, floods. As a result, plants are disappearing and no longer greening in the earth. Secondly, rare animals are becoming more extinct due to overhunting and poaching by humans. Animals help maintain the life of nature, so that their loss has a negative impact on our lives. On the other hand, I believe that other environmental factors are more deserving of our attention. Pollution is a global hot issue attracting everyone. This is because the current number of cars being manufactured and used is increasing, which causes high levels of exhausted fumes and makes air pollution become serious. Furthermore, the phenomenon of ice melting causes sea level rise, which directly affects human life. For example, when the sea level increases above land, people have no home to live and are submerged in the ocean. Therefore, many governments and scientists make an effort to find a solution to sustain human life. Anyway, people tend to care more about personal interests than the community, so the factors that directly affect them such as pollution, ice melting will attract stronger attention to them, and this problem might bring about serious impacts.