Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others think that the circumstances of a crime, and the reason for committing it should be considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views.

There are two considerations regarding the sentencing process. At first sight, punishments for one type of crime should not change in different situations. Contrary to this belief, judges or jurors determining the penalty should consider the intent to create the crime and event-specific reasons such as what was stolen in a robbery case or how the murderer kills. To my way of thinking, even though fixed punishments might be deterrent, an individual fault is related to the circumstances in which it is. Hence, it should be judged in terms of these circumstances. Beccaria who was an 18th-century Italian jurist and criminologist argued that deterrence depends on certainty and quickness. When the court order is made definitely and quickly, criminals hesitate to commit crimes. The fixed penalties benefit not only dissuasion people but also protect the public from crime. Government should ensure the safety of the public. For instance, if the penalty of the murder is clear and the killer knows that he will be imprisoned, femicides that have been receiving widespread media coverage, can not be committed easily anymore. Thus, the violence might be stopped and the public might keep safe. Moreover, due to the judgments based on the laws, judges can neither decide from their own perspective nor take initiative. However, by ethical judgment, whether something is good or bad is about the intention that showing why the action was taken. There may be a number of reasons why the lawbreaker is in the position. While the court sentence the penalty, they should know whether the offense is a forgivable motive or not. For example, traffic accidents may happen with high speed, alcohol, fighting, insomnia, or carelessness. Since this action puts the public’s life safety at risk, there must be a penalty, but the cause is crucial for the accused’s trial. Wrongdoers who hit someone accidentally, steal bread from poverty, or have mental disorders should not charge in the same way as the others. Therefore, each crime should be sentenced in itself. Finally, fixed punishments have some advantages such as discouraging someone from making a mistake. Nevertheless, penalties should be specific to the crime because their drawbacks are vital to the person responsible for the action. The conditions regarding what, by whom, and how the crime was committed may change the result.