In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many societies, youngsters are given the message that anything can be achieved through diligence. This essay discusses the merits and drawbacks of expressing this philosophy. There are two main benefits of telling children anything is possible with sufficient persistence. The first of these is that it can be a powerful source of motivation. This is because it will encourage young people to work hard towards achieving their goals and to be tenacious when goals seem unachievable. Furthermore, this can inspire young people from disadvantaged backgrounds with hope. For instance, children from poor families might find solace in the notion that studying hard can lead to a prosperous career. However, there are also drawbacks of this approach. The most significant is that it can cause a great deal of stress. This is because children who are unable to achieve a goal may burn out due to working increasingly harder in the pursuit of an unattainable goal. Another limitation is that may lead to youngsters wasting their time. To illustrate, if a child is pursuing a goal that is truly unachievable, this time may be better spent on something else. In conclusion, giving children the message that they can achieve anything through hard work is highly beneficial, as it becomes a source of inspiration and comfort. However, it can also lead to considerable levels of stress and time-wasting brought about by attempting to reach unachievable goals. Therefore, it seems that children need to be given some sort of parameters regarding the situations when hard work can lead to positive outcomes in order to prevent the deleterious effects.