Many Countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers?

Due to high living standards and job opportunities, more and more people decide to leave their hinterlands and settle new lives in urban areas. This essay will discuss several reasons for this change, which has resulted in some negative consequences. The main reason behind this shift is job opportunities. Our world has been changed and developed over the past centuries, meaning that we need more labor forces to meet the demand, which results in more working position. If people in rural areas are limited with agricultural work, they will experience a wide range of job from different fields. In addition, the living standard of the city is usually better than in the countryside, which can be clearly observed by the city’s high quality and quantity of public infrastructure such as hospitals and schools. Prestigious schools and universities are usually located in big cities rather than the countryside. In many cases, patients must be transported to larger hospitals in the city due to a lack of necessary equipment. However, demographic shift could result in more serious consequences, such as overcrowding. The current infrastructure could not meet the demand of such rapid increase in the city’s population. It can be clearly seen through consecutive traffic congestions and living condition. Urban residents often suffer from competitive working environment to get to higher position, competitive study environment to get to better schools and universities, and basic needs such as fresh water, fresh air due to population. Thus, the trend might lead to overpopulation in big cities and a lack of labor in rural areas. To conclude, job opportunities is the primary cause behind the trend of rushing out to the city for a better life, and overcrowding and pollution occur as the consequences of this. The government and residents should ensure steps are taken to reduce this trend from increasing further.