Some people think technological development can reduce crime, while others think it would encourage crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people assume that technological advances can escalate crimes, while others say the development serves to curb illegal activities. From my perspective, both views have their justification, depending on the viewpoints from which we see the causal mechanism. On the one hand, there are reasons as to why some people associate technology breakthroughs with increased criminal activities. For those who think in this way, they tend to assume the advent of digital tools provides would-be offenders with more opportunities to break laws, whether these be Internet fraud, or computer hacking. To complicate matters even worse, the widespread use of the Internet also makes it easier for criminals to do illegal business outside of their own countries. While the above reasoning does have its plausibility, I also agree with the opinion that technological development can be also used to curb crimes. Whether technological advance is a curse or blessing to lawbreakers is the outcome of complex causal configurations that act conjointly in the real world; the same technology that exacerbates crimes may also lead to positive results when joined by other factors. Back to computer crimes, the police force can also take advantage of digital technology to track the information of offenders, e.g., their personal identification, or account information. By the same token, the Internet allows different countries to collaborate more closely in fighting cross-border crimes. From what has been discussed above, it is my conclusion, therefore, the relevance of technological progression to crimes can be considered from both positive and negative perspectives.