Some people believe that written communication is much less powerful than face to face interaction when it comes to conveying a message. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statemant?

Other people consider that a written message has weighs lesser impact on persuasion compared to physical interaction. In this essay, I will discuss why I strongly agree with this statement. Firstly, when reading a text the delivery and tone vary depending on the receiver. Thus, the message and thought can be altered depending on the mood of the reader. For example, if the sender wrote the message wholeheartedly persuading the receiver to borrow money, yet when the note is read by the tired person then it could be conveyed in a different tone. As a result, the reader may interpret the message as being rude or opportunistic. Secondly, written texts can be interpreted differently with the factor of penmanship. Furthermore, according to statistics letters that are readable and printed gain a higher understanding compared to cursive ones. For instance, the message can be lost in translation due to unreadable handwriting. On the other hand, one of the advantages of face-to-face interaction is the involvement of both verbal and nonverbal cues. The person can talk and infer a message with the use of body language and verbal words. Thus, there is a high percentage of understanding and influence on the subject. For instance, in the field of business, car salesman use verbal and nonverbal techniques in order to convince potential customers to buy automotive. Whereas, if the salesperson just distributes leaflets then there there is a low chance of appeal. In conclusion, in-person exchange is more compelling compared to written messages. There are a lot of factors that affect the message in written communication such as penmanship and the mood of the receiver. Meanwhile, physical conversations are more effective due to the element of both spoken and signal cues.