Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are few who prefer uniformity in the structure of houses, whereas others like to use their imagination to build their own nest. Not only this essay will discuss both views, but also it will answer that why i feel it should be left to an individual to decide on the architecture of his/her house. Firstly, there are several advantages behind following the design of old houses. To begin, a uniform structure of houses means that fewer expenses are to be done by the government or an individual during the planning and designing phase of the house. Hence, it results in saving money in addition to time. For example, in case of exigencies such as fire or flood, it becomes easier for rescuers to help those who are trapped inside, as they are already aware of entry and exit points of the building owing to a uniform structure. Houses in developed countries look alike. This can really be beneficial and a lifesaver. But this badly hampers freedom of choice and curtails artistic freedom. On the other hand, not following the archaic trends have some merits too. First of all, it is important to think creatively and come up with innovative designs of buildings that are not only cost-effective but also secure for living. Hence, artistic freedom can lead to a win-win situation. In addition to that, there are some who really work hard in life to get the house customised as per their needs, family size and moreover the geography of the locality. Thus, it is important to let individuals fulfil their dreams. In my opinion, though those who want to have customised houses with their dream architecture might be considered greedy at times. However, uniformity is at times monotonous and leads to mediocrity due to not aiming here or being different. Hence, it is important to be competitive and desire more out of life and having a house of own choice is pivotal in that journey. To summarise, old designs of houses can save resources and help during emergencies, however, one size does not fit all and innovation is key too. So, I think that the benefits of building new designs of houses are significantly higher than replicating older designs.