Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Public health has always been an area of contention for many countries. A segment of society is convinced that it is better to prevent illnesses rather than to treat them. Thus, they believe that the government should allocate funds to increase public awareness of diseases. I fully agree with this opinion, because prevention would have a conducive effect on individuals and the economy. To commence, increasing the public awareness of illnesses and the reasons for their development is much cheaper and more efficient for the government and individuals, than curing after their occurrence. Numerous serious diseases like cancer and diabetes are easy to prevent by changing the lifestyle of people. For instance, people in many countries have wrong eating habits which can cause mental and physical issues. In order to prevent it, the government can provide educational seminars for children and adults to guide them towards healthier choices. People can easily be persuaded to follow a healthy lifestyle. Physically and mentally healthy inhabitants generate much more profit and stimulate the economy of the country. To illustrate, once a person gets any disease, he/she and their relatives will not be able to be productive in the workplace and generate profit. This can significantly hamper economic development in case of epidemy occurrence. However, this situation can be avoided if the government funds timely vaccination. Public money should rather be spent on healthcare rather than showcase projects. To conclude, health is the greatest asset of a nation, therefore, the government should allocate more budget on preventive measures of various illnesses. In the long term, encouraging people to follow a healthy lifestyle, can reduce government spendings on public healthcare.