Some people think that sports involving violence, such as boxing and martial arts, should be banned from TV as well as from international sporting competitions. To what extent do you agree?

There are some people who opine that violent sports including boxing and martial arts should be prohibited from TV channels and global competitions. From my point of view, I partially agree with this idea since their advantages are outweighed by disadvantages. On the one hand, it is irrefutable that sports involving violence equip people with defence ability. By learning martial arts and boxing, individuals especially the young can know different skills to protect themselves, consequently reducing the risk of being unexpectedly attacked. In many countries, parents often send their children to martial arts classes at an early age as a way to build up their self-defence. Besides, such strong physical activities usually require people ’s determination and regular practices, which may help to improve their cardiovascular health and concentration. Nevertheless, the government should restrict showing brutal sports on TV and international sporting competitions because it may bring detrimental effects to spectators and society in general. Watching violent sports can make people, especially teenagers become more aggressive in mental and behaviours. As a result, they have a tendency to imitate violent activities and hurt other people, which increases the possibility to commit a crime. In addition, contestants may suffer from serious injuries or even fatal accidents that will cause certain burdens on their families and society. For example, dangerous punches on the head of wrestling contestants can make people disabled and failed to live independently. In conclusion, although violent-related sports can help people to some extent, I believe that they should be restricted on TV programmes and international sporting contests. It is recommended that people still can take part in those sports but in a safer way.