Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every five years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

The importance of a frequent evaluation of driving skills has become a hot topic among the community now. There are some, who elaborating further on making this a mandatory requirement as well. However, this comes with both positive and negative aspects. In most countries, the driving test consists of a practical and written test followed by a medical test. So, such type of frequent evaluations would help to measure the physical conditions of a driver such as eyesight or the reaction time. Also, these are the most common weaknesses of a driver, that causes accidents. Hence, this is one of the major advantages of having a test. Then, due to technological advancement, the features of vehicles are being upgraded within a short period of time. Even a well-experienced driver could take some time to be familiarized with some of the new features. Through such an evaluation, they might get a chance to experience modern vehicles. This is another key benefit of having a test every five years. Thirdly, this would be a greater opportunity to know the updates of traffic laws too. While vehicles and transport infrastructures are upgraded, the law also has to be adapted accordingly. Such a mechanism can be used to communicate the modifications in traffic laws to drivers. Meantime, arranging this kind of test for all the license holders seems not practicable. mainly there will be difficulties in arranging proper locations to hold the exams. Moreover, allocating examiners also will be a tedious task. Another major issue is the budget allocation for this kind of test to print papers, pay examiners, etc. In conclusion, there are more advantages than disadvantages of having such kind of a test. But it would be better if we can limit this to several vehicle categories.