Some people think that the main influence on young people's diet is advertising rather than family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Social media advertising has influenced young targets on diet more than their own family and friends. From my perspective, though peers can alter some food habits, I agree that advertising indeed affects how young people make their dietary choices. Social media has grown exponentially, making them powerful enough to influence other lives. Some marketing are appealing to children and adolescents. Many companies use attractive advertisements to promote unhealthy foods and drinks to young audiences. For example, some fast food companies use toys as free gifts for buying their products. This creates an incentive for children to buy these unhealthy products using the power of advertisements. However, family and peers also play crucial roles in a person's food habits. Since birth, anyone is affected by their environment and traditional culture. Their choice of food is significantly shaped by family at an early age. For instance, people who normally eat bread as breakfast will think of breakfast as a quick appetite for energy in the morning while people who eat a whole meal for breakfast will think of this as the main meal they have for the entire morning. Moreover, the place they live also plays a role such as if they live near the sea then they will have a lot of sea-related food. Hence, gaining the nutrition that others may not get. Therefore, These cultural and environmental differences can have an effect on children's diets. In conclusion, although family and peers contribute to some food habits in the early stage of life, advertising plays an important role in food choice by using targeted marketing and free gifts to introduce their food to new audiences.