Countries should restrict foreign companies from opening offices and factories in order to protect local businesses. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

It is often considered that foreign companies pose a threat to local businesses and, therefore, access should be closed for them. I strongly disagree with this point of view and think that foreign investments play an important role in the economic development of any state. First of all, the widespread involvement of foreign companies contributes to a decrease in unemployment in the country and an increase in state budget revenues. With the organization of production in the host country there is no need to import the products from the previous country. In addition, firms that produce products that are competitive on the world market and are mainly export-oriented can significantly strengthen the host country's foreign trade positions. For instance, organizations in my home country have used this method and have received positive results. The second reason why foreign firms are beneficial to the host country is that they improve the quality of production. Their activities force the administration of local companies: to make adjustments to the technological process, allocate more funds for training and retraining of workers, pay more attention to the quality of products, their design and consumer properties. Most often, foreign investments are based on the introduction of new technologies, the release of new types of products, a new management style, and the use of all the best practices of foreign business. For example, thanks to American, German and Japanese companies and their advanced technologies, the production and sale of goods in my country has improved. In conclusion, foreign companies play a considerable role in the modern world. In my opinion, they entail many positive aspects that should give them access to doing business in other countries.