Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what way has the technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the continuous development of technology has altered the ways that people communicate with each other. This essay will firstly talk about how various relationships among individuals are changed, followed by a discussion that these changes are regarded as a positive development from my personal perspective. Compared to the old times when people only interacted with business partners by phone calls and faxes, which were relatively inefficient, the internet and communication technology (ICT) and tools have contributed to a collaborative working relationship between colleagues, especially during the recent Covid-19 pandemic period. Specifically, high-speed internet and newly developed online applications, such as Zoom.com, Google Meets provide opportunities for people to perform daily work tasks and hold meetings remotely and collaboratively. By doing this, the relationships between colleagues are actually closed because they are able to present ideas, discuss shared business goals and solve possible conflicts by email, instant messages and video calls without worrying about other logistical problems, including the travel time and safety issues. Technology development not only effectively brings people together when they are at work, but also helps them maintain positive personal relationships with their loved ones. The social network applications and tools have been fully utilised by people to express care and love to their friends and relatives, shortening the physical distance between them. Whenever they want to catch up with someone who is thousands of miles away, they just click a simple button on the smartphone and start video chatting. The awareness of always staying connected and being supported would make people feel that they are valued by others, which promote positive personal relationships for individuals. In conclusion, the advancement in technology brings positive impacts to people personal relationships, as well as professional work relationships.