Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, other claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Tourism is a known affair in human life and it is an industry of vast dimensions. Several people claim that tourism influence negatively on common people and the ecosystem, others opine that it positively impact economic growth. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of tourism and hence state my opinion. On the bright side, it is undeniable that tourism plays a vital role in shaping the economical growth of the nation. To be clear, the flow of people from a developed country is a key source of income for restaurants, hotels etc. As a part of, this a lot of job opportunities will be created and hence enhanced the standard of living of the locals. Also, the authorities try to ameliorates the public amenities such as road transport, train services and inland water transportation facilities. For example, recently the Government of Kerala introduced the water metro service which helps to reach from one location to another with ease. On the downside, tourism brings a lot of negative effects to the ecosystem and the environment. Firstly, the tourists intent to use more plastics than that of local residents thus results in the accumulation of products made with plastic along the roadsides. Eventually, the streets are filled with non-recyclable waste items. Secondly, the use of public and private transportation increased which cause a hike in air, water and soil pollution. This, results in the depletion of natural resources. Furthermore, it might outbreak infectious diseases that question the existence of the human race. For instance, a survey conducted by the World Health Organization proved that, over 33 per cent of the diseases are affected due to the contamination of water bodies with non-degradable products and waste. To sum up, a multitude of countries are inclined towards tourism. It is clear that the movement of people from one place to another creates growth in the economy of the locals and hence the nation. So, this essay discussed the positive and negative aspects of the tourism industry.